2010 Redistricting

Maryland adopted new Congressional districts on October 20, 2011 (per U.S. Constitution Article I, Section 2) and new State Legislative districts on February 24, 2012 (per Maryland Constitution Article III, Section 5) based on the changes in population reported in the 2010 U.S. Census and in accordance with Maryland’s “No Representation Without Population Act​” of 2010.

At the conclusion of the 2010 redistricting process, Maryland’s districts were as follows:

  • Eight Congressional Districts
  • 188 State Legislative Districts
  • 47 State Senate Seats
  • 141 State House of Delegate Seats

The Maryland Department of Planning (MDP) is the repository of the 2011 Congressional and 2012 Legislative districts as well as historical reapportionment and redistricting maps and data. MDP is Maryland's designated State Agency coordinator for the Census Redistricting Data Program with the U.S. Bureau of the Census. More information regarding the 2010 redistricting maps can be found here.

Emergency Redistricting of Congressional District 6

In 2018 Governor Hogan established the Emergency Commission on Sixth Congressional District Gerrymandering to revise one of the most gerrymandered districts in our state. This followed a federal court case that ultimately went to the nation’s Supreme Court regarding the ways in which the district lines were originally drawn. Several public hearings were held, and maps submitted electronically by the public were accepted. Using this information, the commission prepared a revised congressional district without regard to the voter registrations of the people while following all recommended standards and guidelines for creating fair, contiguous districts. More information about the Emergency Commission on Sixth Congressional District Gerrymandering can be found at governor.maryland.gov/free-and-fair.


Redistricting impacts both Federal and State election districts. Each state is represented by two United States Senators whose constituencies cover the entire state and are not part of specific districts. Congressional Districts are the areas represented by the United States House of Representatives. Congressional boundaries are part of the district lines to be drawn based on Census data apportionment so that each congressperson represents nearly the same amount of state residents.

Legislative districts are those represented by State Senators and members of the House of Delegates. The boundary lines for these districts are also redrawn during redistricting based on Census data and apportionment.

Maryland has:

  • Eight Congressional Districts
  • 188 State Legislative Districts
  • 47 State Senate Seats
  • 141 State House of Delegate Seats

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information