Maryland Citizens Redistricting Commission Members


​Dr. Kathleen Hetherington (I), Co-Chair​​

Dr. Kathleen Hetherington (co-chair) has served since 2007 as president of Howard Community College (HCC) and has dedicated her career to advancing the mission of community colleges. Among other honors, she has won the annual Chief Executive Award from the Association of Community College Trustees and a Most Admired CEO recognition from the Daily Record, the Maryland legal newspaper. She is registered as an unaffiliated voter from Howard County.​

Walter Olson  (R), Co-Chair

Walter Olson (co-chair) is a senior fellow at the Cato Institute and the author of many writings including four books on law and public policy. His civic involvement​s include service on Frederick County's Charter Review Commission and he is a Parent Visitor at McDaniel College in Westminster. He is a registered Republican from Frederick County.


Judge Alexander Williams, Jr. (D), Co-Chair

The Honorable Alexander “Alex” Williams (co-chair) served as a federal judge for the District of Maryland in Greenbelt from 1994 to 2014. Earlier, he served two terms as the elected State's Attorney for Prince George's County and chaired the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission. He founded the Judge Alexander Williams, Jr. Center for Education, Justice, and Ethics at the University of Maryland and teaches at Howard Law School, as well as practicing law. He is a registered Democrat from Prince George's County.


​Jay V. Amin (I), Member

Jay V. Amin is a broker/developer and professional engineer specializing in land analysis, valuation, brokerage, and development consulting. His areas of knowledge and interests range widely across real estate and infrastructure including multifamily housing, transit-oriented development, and public-private partnerships. He is registered as an unaffiliated voter from Anne Arundel County.

Cheryl Brooks (D), Member

​Cheryl Brooks is principal of Berkshire Elementary School in Dundalk where she was named  Baltimore County Public Schools Principal of the Year in 2017. Carrying on the work of a family distinguished in education, she has helped administer and lead a summer empowerment camp for Dundalk students. She is a registered Democrat from Baltimore County.​

​Mary G. Clawson (R), Member

Mary Clawson is retired from a position of responsibility at a federal agency, working with geospatial, navigation, and mapping missions during which she helped lead an organization of more than 600 employees with a budget of more than $50 million. Her many professional honors include numerous leadership positions in the American Congress on Surveying and Mapping and the International Federation of Surveyors. She has also worked with the private sector to develop products that make online maps more useful and understandable to the public. She is a registered Republican from Anne Arundel County.

​Kimberly Rose Cummings (R), Member

Kimberly "Kim" Cummings is an experienced supervisor in court administration. A longtime Eastern Shore resident, she has worked for the court system in Dorchester and Queen Anne's counties as well as for the Town of Easton. She is a registered Republican from Dorchester County.

Jonathan Fusfield (I), Member

Jonathan Fusfield is a technical writer, editor, and communications specialist with more than 15 years of experience in journalism and the private sector. He currently oversees a communications team for a research and management organization with clients in the public and private sectors. Mr. Fusfield works with subject matter experts to help convey information through written content and infographics in a manner that is appropriate for their intended audience. He previously edited content on a wire service for nearly a decade for a respected national news organization. Mr. Fusfield holds an M.B.A. from The George Washington University and has undergraduate degrees from the University of Maryland. He is registered as an unaffiliated voter from Montgomery County.​

​William Tipper Thomas, III (D), Member

William Tipper Thomas, III is a systems engineer for the Department of Defense, a public speaker, and the founder of the William Tipper Thomas Foundation Inc., which is a nonprofit organization dedicated to advocacy and providing innovative solutions to community issues. He is a registered Democrat from Baltimore City.


Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information